Car MOT dilemma…

moehat

Senior Jockey
Took the car for its MOT today and it passed. However I was given a list of things that will need doing asap due to it being quite old and, like its owner, suffering from old age wear and tear. Will cost nearly £2,000 to fix.Car isn’t even worth that now but it’s a nice little Yaris with hardly any mileage. I just read that from 2023 garages had to tell people of any future work that needed doing, which is what has happened today. Now, I could replace it with newer car that would probably have much greater mileage on it and, if I did so that £2,000 would go a long way towards the cost of its replacement. A newer car would also be far more fuel efficient and road tax would be miniscule. Does an MOT just mean that a car is fit to drive at that moment in time or that it should be ok till the next MOT? Will these problems affect my insurance? Is what happened today purely down to the new rules? Wasn’t expecting it to be honest.

Im not a mechanic, but as far as I remember ( from having lots of cars in a similar condition to yours !!) it’s only good for as long as the car is roadworthy within a year - if something fell off next week then it would be considered a failure if there’s a reason to look at it? ( if that makes sense)

I’d be getting rid as soon as possible to be honest - having a full MOT is a big thing - you’d maybe get a good trade in deal for it against something newer?

Cars are a minefield. Can you have a chat to the MoT centre ( or your usual garage if it’s not the same!) and ask them what they think?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited: